Mark Winterbottom has finished P21 and P17 at the Phillip Island SuperSprint for Round 4 of the Supercars Championship.

Race 9 – Position 21

Winterbottom finished P6 in Q1, but only the top 4 times advanced to Q2 this weekend alongside the top 10 from Practice 2, which meant the #18 began from P16.

Dropping one spot to P17 on the opening lap, Winterbottom ran off track on Lap 3 and dropped into last, reporting issues with the rear right tyre.

With 7 laps remaining in the Race, Winterbottom completely lost the right rear tyre and was forced to pit for the third time to replace it, rejoining in P22 and finishing in P21 as another car in-front retired.

Team 18 was fined $5,000 and 30 team Championship points due to the rouge tyre.


Race 10 – Position 17

Winterbottom finished P14 in Practice 4, narrowly missing the direct line to Q2, but struggled with pace in Q1 and finished P11 in the session and began P19 in Race 10.

Able to hold his position off of the line, Winterbottom made his way through the relatively un-eventful race and rejoined after his second stop in P22.

Winterbottom was able to climb into P17 before the chequered flag but was disappointed with the lack of result in return for the hard work by the team this weekend.

Winterbottom has now moved from 7th to 10th in the overall Championship Standings.

2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship

“Really tough weekend, we didn’t hit the area of the car that was weak. The guys worked ridiculous hours to try and fix it but they had no luck and I feel for them because it feels like we had no reward for the hours they put in. We are still early in the season, we have no damage this weekend, so we’ll regroup and go again.” – Mark Winterbottom

IRWIN Racing will now prepare for the Perth SuperNight for Round 4 of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, to be held on 2 – 4 May with all races to be televised LIVE on Fox Sports.


  • 1 – Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing – 1058 points
  • 2 – Fabian Coulthard, Shell V-Power Racing – 934 points
  • 3 – Chaz Mostert, Supercheap Auto Racing – 815 points
  • 4 – Shane Van Gisbergen, Red Bull Holden Racing – 802 points
  • 5 – David Reynolds, Penrite Racing – 791 points
  • 10 – Mark Winterbottom, IRWIN Racing – 652 points