Mark Winterbottom has finished P18 and P15 at the Perth SuperNight for Round 5 of the Supercars Championship.


Race 11 – Position 18

Winterbottom qualified P21 for the opening Race at Perth, the session hampered by car set-up.

On the final turn of the opening Lap of the Race, Winterbottom was nudged wide into the dirt and rejoined in the last place.

Winterbottom made his way up into P21 before the field began to take their stops.

Heading in for his stop on Lap 33 of 50 and rejoined in P24 and reached P18 by Lap 40, where he eventually finished.


Race 12 – Position 15

Winterbottom had a good start to the 83-lap Race after qualifying P15 in the Q2 session, with plenty of changes throughout the field he remained P15.

The #18 worked up the order as one of the last cars to take their first stop and rejoined the field in P19 on Lap 23.

On Lap 50, a great call by the IRWIN Racing team to pit Winterbottom from P17 as the Safety Car came out saw him re-enter the field in P8.

Winterbottom was challenging for P7 when the rear tyre began to hamper his race and he dropped through the field with 4 laps to go, eventually finishing where he began in P15.

The P18 and P15 results in Perth have dropped Winterbottom to 11th in the Supercars Championship Standings.


“We were going a lot better in Saturday’s Race, we made some spots and were up to P8 which was cool, I thought I had a shot for P7 but then something’s gone with the rear tyre and dropped about two seconds a lap. Not sure if we broke the cord or have done damage to the rear tyre but it’s disappointing because P8 from P15 would have been a great a result.” – Mark Winterbottom


IRWIN Racing will now prepare for the Winton SuperSprint for Round 6 of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, to be held on 24- 26 May with all races to be televised LIVE on Fox Sports.


  • 1 – Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing – 1346 points
  • 2 – Fabian Coulthard, Shell V-Power Racing – 1204 points
  • 3 – Shane Van Gisbergen, Red Bull Holden Racing – 1024 points
  • 4 – David Reynolds, Penrite Racing – 971 points
  • 5 – Chaz Mostert, Supercheap Auto Racing – 944 points
  • 11 – Mark Winterbottom, IRWIN Racing – 783 points